Original article posted by Stephanie:

Kiwis are really very nice. When I got off the plane and had no luggage and no boyfriend to be seen, a very nice couple stated they wouldn’t leave me, and helped me find my way.
I’ve also found Alister’s ‘flatmates’ to be quite like my friends, Greg and Blaine would fit in fairly well. The only thing is, it’s hard to follow their conversations because of the accent, the expressions, and they speak so quickly!

One hard hard thing to get used to is the driving on the left. I’m sitting in what is the driver’s seat to me, going down the wrong side of the road! Half the time when we’re turning I almost scream thinking we’re about to have an accident. It’s amazing really how thoroughly pounded into my skull the idea of the wrong and right sides of the road is.

Another interesting thing is the food. Really, it’s so close to being what I’m used to, but just enough off to make my tastebuds squirm a little. I have yet to find something original that I can really take to, but I’ve only gone through my first weekend here.

Also, this town is home to an obscene amount of car dealerships, and there isn’t a true beater car to be seen on the roads. I’m staying with boys who really love their cars as well, so it’s all pointed out to me more than usual.

I’m not one that likes to stand out in a crowd generally, and here I can’t open my mouth to ask a question without making it painfully obvious that I’m different. I find myself keeping quieter at stores, and having Ali order food for me. Not that I’m ashamed of my accent, but I don’t want to be subjected to curious stares or possible questions.

Strangely enough, even with all the differences and uneasiness, I find myself not wanting to leave, wishing that I could just stay and not have to worry about the rest of the world.

Steph

Orginal comments:


Nickname: Greg
Re: Thoughts from another country
Strangely enough, even with all the differences and uneasiness, I find myself not wanting to leave, wishing that I could just stay and not have to worry about the rest of the world.

Isn’t that the nature of any vacation or big trip?

Like I said. If I had New York, and no end of money, I would never be bored.

-greg

