Original article posted by ravenpaine:

Journal of a Night

Entry 32 – February 1, 2004

Greetings, technically this is being wrtitten on the morning of February 2 but I shant repent from this strange switch in protocol. I’ve got these thoughts that I need to get down. Thoughts about how I suspect the day will turn out.

So I can compare and contrast with how it actually turns out.

The first thing I think I will do today, after I return from my classes which are a foregone conclusion (mostly), is sit and read for most of the afternoon for clases and for fun. Yes indeed it is time I started doing some more of this reading stuff.

Breakfast is cinamon raison bagel and English breakfast tea. The tunes are by Sixpence None the Richer and the typing clicking noise is courtesy of my fingers dancing where they will.

I have a concern with today, as I have a concern with almost everything. And that is the point.

Be back in a moment, got to get that breakfast from the kitchen. I leave you to listen to the music………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

Damn it all, I burned the bagel. Grrr. This adds a sour note of brutal personal failure onto a day that will probably feature brutal personal failure.

Anyway, the issue I’m having with my issue is a matter of security. I cannot feel secure in life without a problem. I’m that used to having a problem. So when I don’t have a real problem I make one.

Which is stupid, which is why I stopped doing that. Now I create unreal problems in my head, dark suspicions that all the world is plotting against me or my associates. These pltos run the gamut of sense and sanity and eventually turn into real problems of staggering and unfortunately difficult to pinpoint proportions.

Case in point that Ryan thing. That wasn’t an issue, it was me subconsciously making an issue until it came true so that I would have something to do for an afternoon.

I curse Ray Bradbury for that telephone on Mars story. I send messages to my future self so that he will be upset an unable to understand what is happening. Today I take joy in the prospect, when it happens I will curse my own name, and then I’ll probably do it again if for no other reason than the person I am now is not the person I will be then so really I’m hurting someone else.

As if that made it okay.

So, a conclusion will need to be drawn from all of this later in the day. Particularly the bits where I mention the horror of the love life. Or the obsessions I trick myelf into, whatever.

I’m doing well as the day progresses, excpet for of course that C in the French test thing. Which by and large is my own fault for not studying to any particular degree.

And Tycho, of Penny Arcade, is a comic genius with wit comperable to Wonderboys.

Rodney TGAP
Bonne nuit, Bonne nuit to you all.

Orginal comments:


Nickname: Greg
Re: the day shifts into third
The question, therefore, is thusly:

Will you be giving yourself a heart attack when you discover that your future self is a generally good natured aging only-man-on-the-planet kind of guy? Or do you not program that eventuality into your revenge phone of the future?

-Captain Greg


Nickname: ryan
Re: the day shifts into third
Ok, Now that makes some sense.

I wasn’t quite sure if I had some strange dream this morning that ended with me being awoken to “DAMN IT ALL!” or if that really happened in the kitchen.

Anyways, thanks for the clarification!

