Original article posted by Olorle:

On my way to class today I was drawn by fate down the path leading me through the Student center on campus. In the living room, new furniture was being brought in. In and of itself, this means little to me. I spend a small enough portion of my life sitting in that living room that the comfort-factor of the chairs means rather little to me. On the other hand, the love-seat sized boxes that furniture was delivered in intruiged me, to say the least. But, being a good little student I instead hurried off to buy treats to help me survive the over-sized history class full of enough inatentive morons to harm any right minded, intelligent human being.
Anywho, class was survivable and, as is inevitably the case, the first moment the proffessor let up, the class started packing and that was it for the day. To avoid being in the cold for any longer than is absolutely neccessary Rodney and I cut through the Sharwan, as is par for our standard sweep away from history. The furniture was no longer filling the precious precious boxes.
Now perhaps not everyone still mantains my child-like fascination with over-sized cardboard cubes, but I tell you that anyone who wasn’t at least tempted by the stack of over-sized boxes is a fool. Fortunately, between Rodney’s promptings and someone else happening to be offered a smaller box I was able to convince myself to ask for one of the boxes before they could be thrown out. With that, Rodney and I each grabbed an end and marched off out the doors. Well, tried to anyway. The smaller single door had no desire to assist us. It’s about time that the double doors were usefull.
Of course, transporting a large box across campus draws even more odd looks than walking across campus as the guy with cat-ears and the man-in-a-hat. You’d think people would become more jaded over time. Perhaps desensitizing is more difficult than the media pretends.
The two more notable reactions were the man who attempted to not clear off the side-walk to let us through, and the old guy across the street. The first person was forced to give way as we refused to yield, as carrying an over-sized box obviously gave us the right of way. The old man was much nicer, offering to give us a wheel-barrow full of snow to fill our box. We were forced to decline, as the water-proofedness of the box was still in question.
Our way-point at Hastings’ house once agian pointed out how unlikely it was that our box would fit through a normal sized door. We set it up behind the house instead, where Rodney noted what prime realestate we would have if this were a larger city. A shame it’s not. I could use the extra money.
After our visit we decided it was time to get the box to Rodney’s house and set off down the street. With some quick thinking, Rodney determined that putting the box on our shoulders would make the walk a lot easier. Being at the tail end of the box, I decided standing underneath it and letting the box just rest on my shoulders was the best way to travel. So was born our cardboard submarine. Far more effective than having to find wheels and a hill to create our cardboard auto.
There was a brief moment when our poor ship scraped heftily against some tree-branches, but we pressed through and made it to port… er… Rodney’s. With excelent timeing, as fate would have it. We stashed the box and stopped the man who was there to shut off the power.
Now, I regretablly have to go sit through another class. Once it’s over, though, I’m off to find a big magic marker so I can properly turn our box into a variety of useful objects.

