Original article posted by -soma-:

Believe it or not, at exactly 1:11 p.m. on Thursday Feb. 5th there was nothing to be heard in SUU’s writing cener but the soft hum of computers and the pleasant clicking of keyboards. ahhhhhh…

Why do I bother to mention this? Well, to anyone who doesn’t spend at least twenty hours a week in here, none of this really matters. For me, on the other hand…
I haven’t felt this relaxed in weeks.

I’ll admit it… I take some pride in telling the world that I, Kellie Jensen, am an English major. This statement usually solicits one of the following responses:
“Wow… English is my worse subject.” … “Ewwww….I hate English!.”… “uhhhh.. you mean like writing and stuff?”

English majors are expected to think for themselves; to demostrate creativity and originality in thought. They are expected to be intelligent, above par, roll models for the rest of the intellectual world.

Now I’m a writing center tutor and I suppose that means something. I hope it doesn’t mean that I sit at home and watch all the ‘reality’ t.v. that I can and then come in for my shift the next day and regale everyone else in the writing center with what happened on American Idol last night and “Oh my gosh! I can’t believe the booted off Kevin!!!” I suppose I don’t fit in here. I’d rather work on whatever it is I’m supposed to be doing in silence rather than hear all about so-and-so’s relationship woes. Fortunately, someone filed a complaint last week and Julie Simon talked to some people.

farewell and goodday,
-soma-

Orginal comments:


Nickname: Olorle
Re: Delicious Nothingness – OR- Mmmm… Silence
One of the most beautifull things to be found on a college campus is the occasional bout of silence in a place that is supposed to be quiet. Much better than being assaulted by foolsih non-sense when you’re attempting to accomplish something.

