Original article posted by Chellee:

As I was reading the recent rant entitled “Theatrical Noselift” (great title, by the way), I was slightly offended.

As a music major AND a member of the cast of Susannah, I felt as if I had been highly stereo-typed and maybe eved a little attacked. Now, I admit that there are many, many people in performance majors who are wretched, extreme elitists with incredibly horrible attitudes and noses so far up in the air they can probably smell God (sorry for the sacrelige).
These people do horrific things to their friends and families, and they claim to be a confidant while ripping your heart out behind your back; HOWEVER, there are some of us who are kind, loving, happy people, even if we are a bit jaded. You’d be jaded, too, if you hung out with the ornery, joy-eating people who suck the fun out of everything that we see every day.

As for the cast of Susannah… well… We’ve been rehearsing that stupid opera since August. Is it any wonder we seem pissed off? The director has us running around like chickens with our heads cut off. Can I just say that she is the ULTIMATE diva? She knows her stuff, but she goes about teaching it the wrong way. She causes us utter spiritual pain. She is the model fun-sucker. She makes us regret we ever loved our art. But we press on still, with hope that someday the blasted opera will be over and we can have our lives and our love back.

Backstage is where the real action happens, if you know what I mean. That’s where you hear all the backstabbing. “Did you hear so-and-so go flat and such-and-such part? I so should have had her part.” and “I’m a drama queen. You are just a lowly music major, so you have no idea what should be going on in an opera.” “It’s an OPERA!!!! If you can’t sing, get out!!!”

Hello!?!?!?!? If this is what happens when we try to combine departments, then I want to quit. Just imagine the inner turmoil of one who belongs to more than one area of the arts! Yeah, it hurts with the pain of a thousand root canals.
I have yet to hear anything bad about broadcasting majors, though. So why can’t we all just get along?

Orginal comments:


Nickname: arylaina
Re: Why can’t we all just get along?
Sorry if my rant offended in any way. Those who actually run into my rant are automatically exempt from any sort of criticism by virtue of the fact that they hang out at the same places I do. I never let fly with criticism where those who it’s actually aimed at may get hit.

What say we gang up on those we’re actually irritated with and Vaseline them to death?


Nickname: Chellee
Re: Why can’t we all just get along?
That would be fabulous. Do they sell vaseline at the dollar store?


Nickname: squishous
Re: Why can’t we all just get along?
I feel the love, I feel the pain.


Nickname:
Re: Why can’t we all just get along?
I too know many in the fine arts that are well . . . horribly self centered and a pain in the a**. However being married to one in the opera Susannah I realize the torment that the cast has gone through! I have not seen my dear husband since January. They have worked long and hard on this and put up with a LOT of crap from their ‘wonderful director’ (who has caused more stress, frustration, and annoyance than anything else). Considering all of the work that you have all put in in the last 6 or 7 months you are allowed a little ‘noselifting’. You also deserve better treatment from the diva we all know as Modesitt!!!!! Good Luck the rest of the run!
By the way the show was awesome this weekend!

