Original article posted by ravenpaine:

It’s good to know that you can still surprise your two time ex-girlfriend with the kind of amazing person you can be when your collected and have vested interest in the other persons well being.

It’s less good to spend two hours of not really sleeping at 5-7:00 in the morning complaining about the seeming lack of intelligence of your fellow gamer.

Now to tackle both of these subjects in the manner in which they are due.

Wendy visited for the weekend, sorta. Mostly she was here from Thursday to Saturday morning but she had to beat the weather out of here. I certainly hope that she did. It’s just plain nasty out there and while I have every confidence in the Wendy’s ability to accomplish any task I will worry, because its what I want to do.

We visited the Blue Kat for the first time and had tasty coffee drinks while listening to too loud music. (In the Blue Kat’s defence we were sitting next to a wall and that causes and echo from beyond.) Wendy summed up our particular experience there with, “It’s got the ambiance of a bowling alley.” Which I think it really did what with the noise and the children running around and the sort of odd billiard players in the dim light behind me.

Wendy discussed the relative attractiveness of the band members and I launched wave after wave of question at a the girl that I was once nearly engaged too but don’t actually know anything about.

Meanwhile Rowsdower and crew were busying themselves at the Game-a-thon. Which was going poorly from the outset. Too many computer/video gamers. Noone even attempting to play a board game or an RPG. Truly, the social aspects of gaming are crumbling beneath us and we are powerless to stop them. I blame the advent of pop culture and the insipid nonsense existence of the Olsen twins. I don’t care how many times I have confused dreams where Mary Kate attempts to enlist my aide in defeating her “evil” sister, Ashley, I’m still not going to be happy with their existences.

Evil, conniving, little coporate monsters.

Wendy and I quit the Blue Kat and met up with Kellie and Ryan at the house where we enjoyed music, conversation, hot teas, and a fire. I triumphantly broke the fire several times and Wendy had to save me with her actual useful SKILLS.

Finally I managed to get to the game-a-thon and pitch in my little bit of effort. Rowsdower’s Vampire game went decently even if this guy named Dominic is a loser and a fool. Erika played well if not showing the signs of inexperience and all was well.

This was, of course, the first and last game that we actually achieved to play all night. And I spent 40% of my brain power wondering if I would see Wendy on Saturday. (I did not, but I feel that our friendship is solid again and that’s worth five great triumphs. Bite me Napoleon and Alexander.)

There was some talk about reorganizing the game store and attempting to get more social gamers in for more revenue. I don’t know where these types of plans will go.

It’s 4:30 pm Saturday. I’m going to take a shower and survey my weekend options. I’m sure there is something brutally important I should be convincing myslef to do.

And I still have to finish the sonnet to the Wendy.

Rodney TGAP
Bonne nuit, bonne nuit to you all.

Orginal comments:


Nickname: Cornelius
Re: A tale of Triumph and Squabbling
I know about Napoleon, but what’s this about Alexander? I’m confused.


Nickname: thewendy
creepy
tooooo creepy.
warn me when you are going to be considerate of my feelings again.
it was very confusing.
đŸ™‚

