Original article posted by -soma-:

Awhile back I whined about this poet we were reading in class, Donald Revell. I’m still not keen on his poetry, but the guy had a few interesting things to say when he talked to the class on Wednesday…

Growing up he was taught that no one is going to go to hell because God is love, and if God is love, then why the hell would He damn anyone to hell, Goddammit

IF I WAS YOUR GOD…
I would not damn you to hell, no matter what you did. Punishment is one thing, it makes you stronger and empathetic to those who you have wronged; eternal damnation is an entirely different matter – it is everlasting, and whatever suffering you caused to wind you up in hell is nothing compared to what you’re in for.

IF I WAS YOUR GOD…
I wouldn’t expect you to believe in me. Your true character is determined when you are good for no reason other than you’re a good person, not because I command you to be good and if you aren’t good than you’re going to hell.

IF I WAS YOUR GOD…
I would provide proof that I exist. I would weave it into the language of mathematics like Carl Sagan’s God does in “Contact”. That way you would know that I WAS the Almightly, none of this “uhh…so if God is all powerful can he create a rock he cannot lift” which proves nothing other than the person asking the question is an idiot and needs me to send them to purgatory for a few millennia until they’ve had some intelligence burned into them. NOTE: I wouldn’t keep him there any longer than necessary.

And finally…

IF I WAS YOUR GOD…
I would be androgenous, because, as a sincere feminist I mustn’t allow for any gender to rule over another.

Maybe God is all these things. If he/she is than we can’t call him/her “him” or “her”. We’ll need a new pronoun desginated just for God. How about “herim’ or “hier” which is actually Greek from hieros, which means holy, so it would work.

farewell and goodday,
Kellie

