Original article posted by -soma-:

I have a hard time rejecting men. I don’t want to hurt their feelings. I know that it hurts to be rejected and this is why I avoid having to do it. Isn’t it much better to dance around the subject, avoid the conversation, and just fake ignorance? That way, hopefully, the guy will subtly get the point and spare himself the naked shame of point-blank rejection.

Everyone says it is important to be completely honest. But I don’t see why a guy needs to know the reasons I’m not interrested in him. It’s even worse if I don’t tell him why I’m not interested.

Maybe this fear of hurting others is the spawn of my own insecurites. I won’t ever get rejected because I am so damn careful. And paranoid. That, and I have a wonderful Ryan. Lucky me. No, I will not simply say “I’m sorry, I have a boyfriend”. No wait…yeah I will. This guy knows I do and still he is harboring some crazy hope.

Grrr… he wrote a poem. He didn’t come right out and confess his feelings, but the evidence is there. So he’s dancing around the subject, hoping I’ll make it easier on him.

The problem is that I really do like this guy. He’s a good friend. That, and he’s in two of my classes this semsester. So I can’t exactly avoid him or fake ignorance.

Blast it

Orginal comments:


Nickname: Olorle
Re: Love Poetry Blows
He could suddenly vanish with no trace. That makes it much easier to skirt around the subject.

That or you could just tell him off. Though that method is likely a little less messy.


Nickname: squishous
Re: Love Poetry Blows
uh, you do know that male ego and subtle don’t mix?

My wife has been trying ‘subtle’ with me for a year and I still don’t know what she’s talking about.
No, with a guy he’s got to have the straight up, -hit me in the face- discussion. It’s after this conversation that he can work on being a friend. Its just our way.

