Original article posted by Greg:

Elder Killen likes to start off every morning with about ½ hour of sneezing lately.

On an un-related note: Grass is growing, beez are hummin’, flowers are blooming, birds are chirping, clouds are… clouding. And Elder Hamblin spends 12 hours in class every day.

Elder Esmiol slapped the thermostat about a month ago and caused it to begin hissing furiously. He hit it four or five more times and it stopped. There seemed to be no ill after-effects of his recklessness.

Today after the temple, we walked into the room to find heater blasting. Elder Richter blames me. Really.

Spiritually speaking, things are pretty good at the time of this writing. I’m learning much and gaining insights every day. I definitely recommend this experience.

Language speaking, wo ziang zhege Zhongwen gei wo cunhuo. The preceding sentence makes no sense without tones, and even then is not correct. Something like “I think this Chinese give me is confused.” This makes about as much sense as “The toilet, she cry all the time.” But not bad for 8 weeks of study, I guess.

I have to make sure I don’t let myself get comfortable with the language, though. Even if I find myself actually GETTING it on rare occasions.

I still get jazzed when I think “hey, I’m learning Chinese.”

Admittedly, the MTC is starting to drag a bit. However, I have found a curative to my occasional desire to leap onto the fence and scream like a howler-monkey; and that is this: listen to a native-speaker for 3 minutes.

And suddenly 26 more days doesn’t seem quite adequate. Yipes!

I don’t know who it is, but somebody has been praying extra hard for me during the past week. Things have been smoothed much, so whoever it is, thanks.

I’ve been getting to know the new districts in unavoidable amounts. A few are very dedicated and doing their best to avoid discouragement. Some are here saying: “I am way too good for this. Why don’t they just send me out into the mission field?” Guess which ones teach powerfully.

One new elder lived in Hong Kong for 5 years, and he’s decided his duty is to teach as much slang as possible. They are currently working on “Get off your horse and fight me.”

4 more weeks… 4 more weeks…

In the mean-time, I invite all men, everywhere, to hear and ponder the message of my letters; and then write letters in faith, believing you will receive a reply, and you will receive a letter in return.

–G.C. Hamblin

Orginal comments:


Nickname: Edward_Nigma
Re: Greg’s letter 04/05/04
Greg, how do you get to post on the net whilst at the MTC?, Are you doing it from the Telecenter? DO the alow the Elders to use the net now? Just Wondering


Nickname: Edward_Nigma
Re: Greg’s letter 04/05/04
Greg, how do you get to post on the net whilst at the MTC?, Are you doing it from the Telecenter? Do they alow the Elders to use the net now? Just Wondering

