Original article posted by Chellee:

Lately, as I’ve slowly been coming out of my rut, it’s finally sunk in how incredibly sad most people on this site seem. It’s amazing how much you don’t process when you’re focused on yourself. Here I am. I’ve been reading about your lives and all the while discounting everything for self-pity. Now there’s a statement of hypocrisy if ever I’ve seen one.

I’m just a little curious. Are our lives really that bad? Are we all really as sad as we proffess to be? If so, we sure have managed to gather a large group of very sad people to one site. I suppose I have to take into account that we are all writers and/or artists in one form or another, and our art thrives off of emotion. But can’t some of our emotions be jubilant?

I realize this is a bit of a double standard on my part. I’ll work on it, too, though. And I’m not saying we should all be happy all the time. Part of the good thing about this site is being able to get it all of our chests. I just think an occasionally truly happy story would be great.

SOOOOOO…. I think we should all pretend we have fairy dust. What would be the happy thought that would enable you to fly to Never Never Land? Your family? Your friends? Your own talents? Long walks on the beach? Sex? Candy bars? What would it be?

Let’s think about it. Tell us about it! I want to know what makes us all tick. That’s my challenge.

Orginal comments:


Nickname: ravenpaine
Re: What’s your happy thought?
My happy thought is, and has been, the idea of the daughter I do not have, but someday will, and my friends who make all of life worth fighting for.


Nickname: SmokyWolf
Re: What’s your happy thought?
I am happy that escapism in small doses has been proven to be good for your health. I am happy that I have a family, both literal and figurative, that will support any endeavor after they’ve voiced their thoughts on the idea, whether they approve or not. Specifically, I’m happy for the wife and son I have and the daughter I’m expecting.


Nickname: Dyistar
Re: What’s your happy thought?
I’m speaking for myself here, but it might apply to others, is that when I’m feeling happy or cheery I’m usually out and about with people I like. When I’m being all sad and gloomy I feel the urge to write about my problems. And if there are others like me then that might explain why there are more sad posts than happy posts. When you do something good you want to run out and tell everyone, when you’re depressed then you want to just rant a while without getting interupted. It’s just a theory.


Nickname: -soma-
Re: What’s your happy thought?
My happy thought is Ryan showing up in the Writing Center soon so that he can go get me some food from Arby’s or somewhere equally tasty.

Dyistar is correct. I know that I only write in my journal if I am deeply depressed, wanting to create something out of the numbness so that it isn’t just a complete waste of life.

