Original article posted by Stephanie:

That’s my view on politics for the most part. I’m sure someday something will actually make me sit up and take notice, but for the most part my apathy towards politics is pretty overwhelming. And yet, like many Americans, if you attack the foundation, the basic United States of America, my blind patriotism takes over and I will defend to the bitter end.

When did I become so soft? This slow breaking down of ideals? For one thing, I believe in the sanctity of marriage between a man and a woman. And yet when I hear about same sex marriages, where I should react and take a stand, the same apathy takes over. And so it goes for most other things.

All these articles arguing back and forth. I read them, I agree here, disagree there…and mostly leave it at that. I don’t want to get involved.

I’m content sitting back and watching it all happen.

I’m weak. I’ve been coddled. I’ve never had to work and suffer and sacrifice for something I believe in so much, that I would die for it. I’m soft.

Almost makes me jealous of the people who do have fiery beliefs. Almost. I’m too content watching to really want to get up and do something.

Will realizing this about myself make me change? I don’t know. It’s something that’s always been there. Maybe someday I will find something that strikes something in me. Something that I am willing to fight for, something that makes me willing to give up everything for.

Sadly, I’m just waiting. And I go about my life just the same.

But good on you, all those who are standing up for what you really believe. Either side, either way. You’re stronger than I am.

Orginal comments:


Nickname: SmokyWolf
Re: Content
Could it be that contentment is your cause?
This world needs all types, including those who walk the path of the observer.

