Original article posted by SmokyWolf:

I recently read a Ravenpaine piece that reminded me of something that’s been really bugging me. We’re still being blamed for things that we had no control over.

Because I happen to be a tall white male, I am the cause for all the evil and wrongness in the world. it doesn’t help my case that I’m a believer in Christ, because his followers have been guilty of much of the atrocities in the world. The thing is, I wasn’t involved. For that matter, as near as I can tell, neither were any of my ancestors.

Lets look at the treatment of blacks. Please understand that I think that slavery and the degradation of the so-called African-American is horrific. What they endured is not something that any human should have to endure. But I wasn’t involved. Where I grew up there were only two blacks. I didn’t even realize that they were anything out of the ordinary until I was educated about their opression in school. As near as I can tell, they were treated like people and that was as far as it went. I’m getting tired of hearing about how the African-American, or whatever name is currently politically correct, is getting the shaft in the world today.

That’s bull. I know that if I apply for a job at the same time as any minority, that I may as well start hunting for work again, ’cause I’ve already been eliminated from the running because of my racial profile.

Most feminists really get on my nerves too. Many of them don’t even know what they’re talking about. I’ve seen several who want men to respect them as equals and then sit on their butts waiting for prince charming to ride in and treat them like princesses. I hate to say it but you can’t have it both ways. Equality is great, but I wouldn’t settle for that if I was a woman. Again, history has shown that the majority of men have degraded the majority of women. Unfortunately this still happens. But I don’t understand why I have to be the evil Spawn-of-the-Oppressor-to-All-Women just because my wife chose to take my name when we got married. That’s bullshit, and I’m sick of it. Back off okay? I’m not anti-feminist, I’m not opposed to women in the workplace. Do whatever the hell you want Just don’t get all over my case because my wife wants to be a stay at home mom and I support that decision.

One final note. I’m Mormon. The LDS church has been the subject of as much opression as most minorities can claim. Do you see us running around begging the government to give us recompense for something that happened to our predecessors? Will I expect preferential treatment when I leave Utah because my people have been so abused over the years? Honestly, I still expect that Mormonism will become a liability more than an asset. Am I going to make a stink about it and go to the Supremem Court? No. Why? Because it’s ridiculous. It’s stupid. I’m not going to force a bunch of people who have no responsibility for the situation to suffer because of one ignorant s.o.b.

And by the way, if that’s not enough I’ve got something else. Do you know how opressive society is to tall people? I’ve got plenty to say about that too. But that may be best saved for a later time.

Orginal comments:


Nickname: ravenpaine
Re: I’m not Guilty
I’m just so pleased to see that people are getting the point. it is not about what has happened or what happened to you in particular, it is about what you intend to do about it.

And me? Well I’m doing what HL Mencken recommended I do:

“The most dangerous man, to any government, is the man who is able to think things out for himself, without regard to the prevailing sueperstitions and taboos. Almost ineveitably he comes to the conclusion that the government he lives under is dishonest, insane and intolerable, and so, if he is a romantic, he tries to change it. And even if he is not romantic personally he is very apt to spread discontent among those who are.”


Nickname: Chellee
Re: I’m not Guilty
Don’t you love how Rodney twists everything to fit exactly what he thinks it should say? Nothing personal, I just think it’s kind of convenient. Anyway, I think you make a very good point, and I mostly agree. Okay, I entirely agree, but I don’t like to appear to be too agreeable.
I agree about the oppression of tall people, also. Very nice.


Nickname: Junpei
Preach On!
6’2″ Forever!

😀


Nickname: SmokyWolf
Re: Preach On!
I hate to say it, but I’ve got you beat. I top out at 6′ 7″


Nickname: Junpei
Re: Preach On!
Height Nazi!

