Original article posted by -soma-:

American’s think “pride” is a good thing. I hear it all the time:”I’m proud of my country”, “I’m proud of my kids”, “I have school pride”. Hell, I hear Bush say it all the time, “I’m proud of America and the troops oversees.”

At what point in the Christian era did “pride” become a good thing? Last I checked, according to Christian doctrine Pride is a sin. In fact, Pride is the deadliest sin. Anyone who claims they are Christian should quit being proud of it. Particularly anyone who claims they are Christian and American.

Many people would argue that only certain types of pride are sins. This is like saying that only certain types of hate are sins. Pride is pride; there aren’t “types”.

Don’t agree? Well, take a look at what must be present for pride to exist: In order to be proud of one’s country, one must compare it to other countries and find that his country is superior. If all countries were as “great” as America, we wouldn’t have anything to be proud about. Shouldn’t we want other countries to be as “great” as America? A parent isn’t going to be proud of her child for getting straight A’s if every child in school gets straight A’s. Summary: we can only be proud if we think we are better than someone else.

Quit using “proud” to signify something you think is good. If what you feel is truly good, then maybe you should find another word to signify how you feel: love, dignity, appreciation, humility, respect, etc.

I am proud of many things. Really. I say this because I realize that it is a serious weakness of mine.

Orginal comments:


Nickname: ravenpaine
Re: What are YOU proud of?
I should have realized when I started that this would spiral out of control. I have, on this site, in the past four months attacked many things.

Let’s list them: Your religious beliefs, your family unity, your intellect, your writing skills, your major, your relationships, your sanitary falliability, your art, and your sanity.

But only when I qustion your country do I get so many responses so quickly and written with such determination. What I want to know is why you all care so much? What is it about the soil that you live on and the people who claim to own such things so important to you? Honestly, why is this a topic that you will fight and die for? There are many greater and more noble causes to fight for. What is it about this one?

Rodney TGAP


Nickname: Junpei
Re: What are YOU proud of?
I don’t think I ever fought for the ‘noble cause’ of america.


Nickname: Stephanie
Re: What are YOU proud of?
First off, I’ll just say I don’t care if it’s said that pride’s a sin.
Secondly, I think having pride in who you are, what you’re a part of, is a good thing. I’m proud of who I am. And not because I think I’m better than anyone else…but because I like who I am, and I’m not going to change who I am to fit someone else’s ideal.
Yes, I am proud to be an American. I love my country, I love being a part of it. I love the unity people feel across the country. And no, I don’t say that and mean that I think every other country is crap and should try to be like America. There are other countries I love dearly. But that will not change the pride I feel for that part of who I am.


Nickname: -soma-
Re: What are YOU proud of?
Perhaps my purpose with this post was unclear…
Not all people think pride is a sin. The “sin of pride” is a purely Christian concept and, therefore, only Christians are bound to this law. The purpose of my post was to remind people of this who should already know. And just as a side note: I am not attacking any religion, country, or lifestyle here. I too love my country and was *gasp* raised LDS. It was years ago in a seminary class, in fact, where I was reminded that ALL PRIDE IS A SIN. That has stuck with me ever since.


Nickname: ravenpaine
Re: What are YOU proud of?
Incase you think this comment is not conerned with the post in general, I point out that my pride as a writer, and as an opinionated person claims that all of this is happening becasue of me and exists only to further glorify all that is me.

And look at where that has gotten me.


Nickname: squishous
Re: What are YOU proud of?
I wonder, does pride in something denote a compasison to other things? It’s an interesting twist. I have seen people who were proud of their first home, even though they knew it was a pile of junk compared to any other place they’ve ever lived. Pride is a tricky beast. I don’t really know, but its given me something to think about. Thanks

