Original article posted by chamblin:

My husband doesn’t like to use the word ‘proud’ for the reasons Rodney has stated. I think that’s just silliness. Of course there is evil pride that drives us to do evil things. But as a parent there is feeling we have regarding our children (even our semi-adopted ones) that has no name but is readily understood when we use the term ‘proud.’

This has nothing to do with comparisons to other children, or any sense of superiority or competitiveness, or even taking credit for their accomplishments. It is a kind of joy(? another inadequate word) in watching your children struggle toward becoming adults. It doesn’t matter if they are succeding or failing. It’s how they deal with life, how they treat others, what struggles they overcome, what they accomplish, their strengths, their weaknesses…

It’s in many ways a description of our feelings as we watch them grow and mature into adults who we love and respect, and who we can count as our friends as well as our children.

I have also been proud of myself when I face a fear or take on a challenge. If I hike 15 miles into Kolob Arch at 44 year of age, I am proud. I may be the slowest one in the group (no maybe about it) but I have prepared, endured and grown, and I am proud of it.

I’ll use another word if you can think of one with these connotations. I haven’t found an acceptable substitute yet.

And still, I consider myself Christian! ; >

Yup. Proud is the right word. Rodney, I am very proud of many of the things you do.

Mom Hamblin

Orginal comments:


Nickname: -soma-
Re: I come late to the ‘proud’ debate
Grrrr….
It was I who brought up the “proud” issue, not Rodney. Still, if you want to blame Rodney for Kellie’s sins, I will allow it. You bring up a good point. The word “proud” has evolved to connote something good, however, I still disagree that it is the appropriate word to use when we simply “feel good” about our successes. Languages evolve, obviously. I think it is interesting to consider how languages evolves. Why has the word “proud” evolved into what it is today? At some point, English speakers began using it to signify something that they thought was good. I call for a language revolution. Let’s quit saying “proud” when we don’t mean it.


Nickname: chamblin
Re: I come late to the ‘proud’ debate
Grin. Oops.
I would say that I’m proud of you too, but since I don’t know you like I do him, I won’t.

I’ll quit saying proud when you give me an appropriate substitution (sounds like a challenge no?).

Language evolves. It’s inevitable. I can accept that in the word proud, but when irregardless, triantula and nukular hit the dictionaries I’m switching to Chinese.

