Original article posted by 1066ad:

No. I’m serious. I’ve volunteered you all to participate in The Great American Bake Sale. You can find out more at www.greatamericanbakesale.com. The bulk of the proceeds are going to Share Our Strength in order to feed starving children in the US, but 25% of the proceeds are earmarked to create the Six Mile Village writer’s scholarship fund. Still working out details and submission forms, but the intent is that we’ll be able to offer mini-grants to writers to allow them to have just a little more time to write (and provide them with another deadline– an important aspect for the procrastinators among us.)

I feel a little sheepish just volunteering without consulting anyone, but I figured if it’s just me, it’s just me. Haven’t had the focus to write lately, but I fel like I should be doing something.

I ‘d really adore some help. There will be a planning meeting Sunday afternoon at 4pm at my house, and if you have any ideas either post them or drop by if you’re local. We’re including a rummage sale as well, so if you have anything to donate or know someone else who wants to they are very welcome. Donations are tax deductable. If you’re interested in baking (either providing your own ingredients or having them provided by me) please contact me. There will also be a quilt raffle. I’m making a queen sized patchwork quilt in green and purple. I’m also including some boutique items like crocheted pothlders, patchwork bags, etc. I’d like to have facepainting as well. Any other ideas or input on these would be appreciated as would your support and attendance at the actual event.

-Hastings

Orginal comments:


Nickname: -soma-
Re: The Bakesale I volunteered you for
Hey,
Rodney isn’t much for passing along valuable information. I want to participate in the bakesale. I dont know how to bake or how to make things, but I’ll be thinking of ideas.


Nickname: 1066ad
Re: The Bakesale I volunteered you for
Okay– i was a little huffy yesterday when no one showed up to plan. Have since rethought my position (I was going to cancel) I’m still considering. Does anyone think this is a good idea, or am I just out of my mind?
-Hastings


Nickname: 1066ad
Re: The Bakesale I volunteered you for
Bakesale has been scaled down to just Saturday the fifth. If anyone is interested in helping bake and doesn’t want to do it on their own, I will be making breads– zuchhini, banana, whole wheat etc. a week from this saturday– May 29th. I’ll be freezing them for the sale, but some samples will probably be offerred. Also, Friday June 4 is cookie day. I’ll be making batches of cookies non-stop all day. Please drop by to laugh at me, eat a cookie or two, help wrap up a few more, and assist in pricing stuff for the rummage portion of this endeavor.
-Hasstings

