Original article posted by Greg:

Particularly with a typhoon on its way in to wipe the city clean! BWA HA HA HA! Well, apparently fear of typhoon doesn’t keep the gamers locked up at home, cause this place is doing a fair amount of business already at 10:30 on a Wednesday morning.

Bomberman online and counterstrike seem to be the games of choice today.

By the way, if you have a need or desire to write a brief note to me, just post a comment to this article and my loving, web-surfing mother will forward it to me in her next email. Or at least I think she will since she seems to have done it up till now. So please leave comments.

I passed my ‘midway’ yesterday. That theoretically means that I’m halfway to becoming a “Certified Missionary” or in other words, that I’m halfway good enough to be the senior companion. Really it’s not that accurate. Midway is something I probably could have done a week or two after the MTC. The PRE-CM is a real beast. Involving lots of memorizing and more memorizing. And also memorizing. So that will be the true triumph.

Nevertheless, I’m pretty jazzed that I was able to midway. It made for a little cheer yesterday. We celebrated with spaghetti.

I’ve been on about 4 exchanges the past week. It’s pretty extreme. It’s really interesting to go out and proselyte with other elders and see their unique styles and methods.

Been having a dip in enthusiasm lately, unfortunately. It’s been a few weeks of blah. Most of the time it isn’t too bad, but sometimes I just want to go back to bed. It also creates an interesting ‘missing friends’ experience. What I can’t tell is if missing my friends makes me sad, or if being sad makes me miss my friends. Hmmm.

So my goal is to get back to happiness in the work. Today we are going to the Taiwan Taipei Temple. It should be a good experience. Apparently the temple president is going to give us a question and answer session as well. Now if only I could think of questions to ask.

As we travel here and there today, we’ve been shouting “Watch out! Typhoon is coming! Run and hide!” To which the courteous taiwanese people reply: “What?” because they don’t speak English.

We ride bikes a lot. Its pretty fun, but my legs are in a constant state of very tired. So I’ve been getting slower and slower. I’m still the “Yoshi with mushroom” of the district – meaning I’m the quickest starter, but as my companion says: It’s all flash and sparkle.

Now, what to say that’s funny for all involved? Can’t think of much today. We continue to go out and try to tell people about God. They continue to say “I’m buddhist, please talk to my Christian friends.” or “I’m Christian, please talk to my buddhist friends.” People continue to cross the street to avoid talking to us.

But we still manage to find a few of the honest in heart, willing to listen and really give room in their hearts for the word.

My friend, I look forward to hearing from you. Hint hint.

Cogito ergo w00+.
-Elder Greg Hamblin

Orginal comments:


Nickname: Chellee
Hi, Greg’s mom!
Greg’s mom (why I don’t know your name escapes me… Sorry) could you please forward this message? I believe my lack of ability to write snail mail could be closely related to chokitude…

Greg,

I just wanted to say hi and let you know that I’m not yet married, dead, or transfigured. I know all of these were huge concerns for you, but you don’t have to worry anymore! 🙂

I’m still working at the homeless shelter (full-time now), and I got a job at the music building until the end of June.

In the matter of one week, Gwen (from Opus who has two kids) managed to fall down and break her foot; my grandma fell down and broke her collarbone; and my sister and her husband got custody of his three kids, leaving them with five daughters. The oldest four range in age from six to eight, and then there is a three month old baby. (George swears he got a bogie flavored one once.)
Anyway, I’ve just been running around like crazy making sure no one is going to kill themselves or their kids…

Anyway, just wanted to update you! Good luck! I enjoy your letters on sixmile, they’re good!

–Rachel


Nickname: chamblin
Hi Chellee (Rachel)!
Consider it forwarded. Thanks for writing. He loves these messages.

Greg’s mom (Carolyn)

