Original article posted by Greg:

For those who know what a “Move Call” is, I’m going to be in scenic Tucheng for another one of them. That means at least 6 more weeks here. Which is really exciting for me.

In the Tucheng district there were 8 missionaries at the beginning of this move-call. 6 elders and 2 sisters. There were two elders in Tucheng, Sanxia, and Shuling each. Then the sisters covered all three cities… but mostly Tucheng. Then the sisters had to move a coulple of weeks ago. And a couple of days ago they closed the city of Shuling. That means the Tucheng elders are now in charge of that city as well.

This means me. This means our area just more than doubled in size, and more than doubled in population. We have to ride for 1/2 hour as fast as we can in any direction to leave our area. It’s huge.

So that’s the big news of the week. Now for other news:

I am now 10 pounds heavier than I was at the MTC.

The Cockroaches are beginning to organize sport leagues and bookclubs. We feel it might be time to begin a reign of terror against them.

Somehow in our english class we brought up Shakespeare’s A Midsummer Nights Dream. Now I have a great desire to read some Shakespeare.

A week or so ago, I shared a talk with my compainion called “But if not.” It describes how faith isn’t just assuming things will work the way you want, but knowing that if your faith is in Jesus Christ and God that everything will turn out for the best. It got him pretty upset for a day or two. He has a few questions about faith. And I thought he didn’t really listen to me so much because he’s the trainer, after all, and I’m just a greenie. But then in District Training Meeting he taught the whole lesson right from that talk and used a lot of things he and I discussed together.

I guess it turns out my companion does listen and respects me. I need to repent.

We teach english to a 5th grade class everyTthursday. It’s very fun. The teacher says he wants to bring a video camera and record us because apparently we’re pretty funny. Basically we make up or tell a fairy-tale every week and make the kids all draw pictures on their personal white-boards. The story always ends with super-rabbit saving the day in some unexpected way.

Feeling happier all-around the past 4 or 5 days. The trip to the temple helped, I think. Also I stopped writing in my journal. I decided I’m not going to write until I have learned to write the good stuff as well as the bad and focus on the mission instead of the people I left behind. Also, the main help was being able to go back and read some things I had written while in the MTC.

Man, I’m a good writer. I’m so good that I cheer myself up in the future.

Notes from your chubby elder:

Rodney: Happy birthday. Hope your package arrives someday.
Stephanie: I haven’t heard anything from you in a while. That makes me sad. I’m sure the letter is in the mail, though.
Kayeleen: Also haven’t heard from you in a while. I’m sure the letter is in the mail, though.
Blaine: Congrats on that one thing. Seriously.
Tom: Thanks for the letter and review. Your response should arrive in 10 to 45 business days. All else: Haven’t heard from you in a while. I’m sure the letter in in the mail, though.

Tune in next time to hear Elder “Korean Cockroach” (Han Zhang Lang – It’s what the kids call me. They call elder Ssmith, whose name is shi, si zhang lang – dead cockroach. ) say:

Cogito Ergo Woot,
-Elder Hamblin

Orginal comments:


Nickname: Stephanie
Re: Hitting the electric brain once again.
I wrote to you when I was in New Zealand, I hope it gets there soon.
I’ll write again soon, promise 😀


Nickname: squishous
Re: Hitting the electric brain once again.
Good ole’ Gregory.

I know this is the first you’ve heard from me, but I have loved reading your letters here on Six Mile. I have been told that I can post a comment and it will get forwarded. I hope it is so.

Mindy has gone North for the summer. She is doing her student teaching up there, so I have become a bachelor agian. That means LOTS of computers. I’ve realized I am not so dependant on computers anymore. I am also doing drugs. Lots and lots of drugs.

You have a lot to offer to the mission, and to the Lord. Don’t let the mudane routines dampen your subtle enthusiasm. The closest I have been to true enlightenment was during the lowest piont of my mission. I don’t talk about spiritual things often, but I have a strong testimony, and a lasting love for my Father in Heaven. I would love to read your talk about Faith. I spent 6 months of my mission trying to understand the principle of Faith. So send me a copy or something. I’d love it.

We all miss you here. I’ve run into Kayleen at her work a few times. She’s a great gal. I didn’t get to know her well while you were here, but after one night of Settlers and good conversation with her and Blaine I totally approve. (yes, I had a deep and meanigful coversation that included Blaine). [Blaine, if you read this, I love you. You big hunk of man-meat.]

Greg, you are an inspiration, and nothing less, keep us all posted about the roach situation. I hope you win, but my money is on the roaches. They’re mean critters.

you are in our prayers, Mindy says hi, and Goodnight

-Russ

I never check my spelling, so shut-up about it. Oh, and the drug thing is so that you can have somehting juicy to tell your companion.


Nickname: Cornelius
Re: Hitting the electric brain once again.
What would you do if a million cockroaches, I mean zergling, came out of that pantry?

Don’t let the fact that we’re not here get you down. I think from my basic training experience that you start to miss people more if you’re bored or not focused. The times I missed people the most was when I had nothing better to do. Remember all that whining I did towards the end? I was bored! The rest of the time I just wanted mail so I had proof that people cared I existed.

I will be joining you soon. But not yet. One thing remains. Vader. I must confront Vader. Then, only then, a Jedi will I be. And confront him I will.


Nickname: chamblin
Your comments
Rest assured, your comments are on their way to Greg

Thanks for writing. It means so much to him.

