Original article posted by Greg:

So he started “freezing” hands and organs and things like that. And then cutting up whole bodies and freezing them like that. So theres these people that look absolutely unraveled – limb, joint, muscle, nerve and whatnot all stretched out for yards in every direction, so you can look all the way into and through a person. We also saw bodies with everything but the bloodstream or the nervous system removed. Weird.

Cool, but eerie to look at these things and then remember that this is somebody’s uncle Jeff split open for the world to see his gallstones.

Also there were babies, but that was truly disturbing and I don’t want to think about it. So there.

In more uplifting news, the mission has reached another phase in the roll-out of the new ‘preach my gospel’ program. We got the new missionary guides, which absolutely ROCK. They are so helpful and exciting and other things that nerdy missionaries would say.

The past couple weeks I’ve been thinking about marriage a lot. Not my own, mind you, but others. For example, we had a reception at the church here for a man who is a member, and his vietnamese wife, who is not.

He called me yesterday and said “can you elders come over on Friday?” I said “sure, why?” He said “To teach my wife the gospel!” and I said “How will we communicate with her?” To which he said “I don’t know.”

We’ve been telling him for months that if he marries a girl who doesn’t speak Chinese, and he can’t speak her language, and she’s not his religion, and he lives with his parents who hate his religion, it leads to a LOT of problems.

Nevertheless, he decided to marry her.

And it still hasn’t sunk in that we can’t help her learn the gospel, and hasn’t sunk in that he has to stand up to his parents and just take her to church despite their objections.

He wants a lot, but doesn’t seem to see the obstacles that need to be overcome.

There’s another guy in the ward who, many years ago, married a vietnamese girl. She’s now gone for about 27 days out of the month, living with her boy and girl friends somewhere else. But occasionally she comes back to see her two kids.

Then there are some who do it right. Who keep what is important to them important. Who don’t give up the things that make them truly happy for somebody else – but add somebody who is already happy to their lives. Some people do it right. (like my little sister, I bet.)

We visited an old singe guy the other night. He said – “I’m facing a lot of strangeness right now.” He drew a line, “This is the path that leads to God.” then he drew a box with many lines coming out of it, “This is where I am now, and I don’t know which way to go. This way,” He labeled it, “leads to pain. This way,” he labels another, “leads to Satan. This leads to hell. This one leads to temptation. This one leads to Japan. And I don’t know which way I’m headed right now.”

We can only hope it’s not to a foriegn country.

Notes:

Mom and dad: Thanks for the package of goodies and the John Deere dealership card.
Kayeleen: You are a great leader and a great person.
Jodie: Hee hee. I know what you’re getting for your wedding present from me.
Blaine: Thanks for the note. and I hope that someday I will thank you for settlers of catan. *wink*
Teah: Thanks for the letter and say hello to everybody. By which I mean your husband.
Rodney: Please begin work on a “Rodrigo Family Christmas Letter.” Especially finding the old family and what they’re doing. It would be good for all, yes?

It’s okay, I ate Subway today.
-Elder Hamblin

