Original article posted by chamblin:

We are getting so many neat new things it’s incredible. National Guard units never get anything except for hand-me-down. My new body armor actually came shrink-wrapped! It’s nice too. It weighs less and is more effective than the stuff we had before. All of our new gear uses a new system of straps and loops which makes it totally customizable. I can put stuff wherever it is best for me instead of where the Army decided it would look cool. I got a new helmet, too. It’s got movable pads on the inside and a complex strap system. It feels more like a bicycle helmet than anything. It’s also 2lbs. lighter. Woo-hoo! I got a new rain suit that is actually waterproof. I got nice desert boots that I don’t have to polish, I got some nice new thermal underwear. It’s all black, so when you dress up in it and put on the cold weather balaclava, you look like a ninja. I have pictures.

I also got a digital camera. But I had to pay for that. It’s been a lot of fun.

There are a couple of things I got that I’m not so thrilled about. The first is a smallpox shot. All of you old people who were around when that was mandatory know what I’m talking about. For the rest of you, it’s like an infected mosquito bite. From a radioactive mosquito. With three heads. It’s driving me nuts! We’ve been ordered not to scratch it. Bad things happen if you scratch it.

The second thing I got was a sprained toe. Someone fell on it while we were riding in a track. So I got put on a profile, which is the Army’s version of a doctor’s note. Since I can’t train, all I’ve done since then is guard things. I’ve had time to read and write, but I’m almost out of stuff to read. I’m going mad. Mad!

I have a fun story to tell. A friend of mine who is over in Iraq now got attacked. His HumVee was going down the road when they passed a parked car on the side of the road. This car had many hundreds of lbs of high explosives in it. Some one detonated it when he was right next to it. As the top turret gunner, he of all people should have been killed by this. However, not only did he survive, but the only damage to the vehicle was a flat tire. Everyone was fine. It’s not because of our armored vehicles. It’s because of his personal righteousness and faithfulness to God’s commandments.

PSALM 91

1 He that dwelleth in the secret place of the most High shall abide under the shadow of the Almighty.

2 I will say of the LORD, He is my refuge and my fortress: my God; in him will I trust.

3 Surely he shall deliver thee from the snare of the fowler, and from the noisome pestilence.

4 He shall cover thee with his feathers, and under his wings shalt thou trust: his truth shall be thy shield and buckler.

5 Thou shalt not be afraid for the terror by night; nor for the arrow that flieth by day;

6 Nor for the pestilence that walketh in darkness; nor for the destruction that wasteth at noonday.

7 A thousand shall fall at thy side, and ten thousand at thy right hand; but it shall not come nigh thee.

8 Only with thine eyes shalt thou behold and see the reward of the wicked.

9 Because thou hast made the LORD, which is my refuge, even the most High, thy habitation;

10 There shall no evil befall thee, neither shall any plague come nigh thy dwelling.

11 For he shall give his angels charge over thee, to keep thee in all thy ways.

12 They shall bear thee up in their hands, lest thou dash thy foot against a stone.

13 Thou shalt tread upon the lion and adder: the young lion and the dragon shalt thou trample under feet.

14 Because he hath set his love upon me, therefore will I deliver him: I will set him on high, because he hath known my name.

15 He shall call upon me, and I will answer him: I will be with him in trouble; I will deliver him, and honour him.

16 With long life will I satisfy him, and shew him my salvation.

I actually had a couple of days off not too long ago. I did some shopping and went to a movie. It’s called ‘Robots.’ Very good. Much like Shrek in its style of humor, but without all of the dirty jokes that only adults get.

It’s a good thing I got some days off, too. I was about ready to mutiny. Funny story. We were in a bus and the driver had to stop to get fuel. I told him that if he drove all the way home, I’d buy the gas. He said, Nuts to that, I’ve got the Army’s credit card! Then, everyone on the bus cheered.

All in all, it hasn’t been all that bad. The MRE’s (a.k.a. ‘Happy Meals’) all have candy in them. Remember to write the man who stands as a bullet sponge between you and Haji. Defending Truth, Freedom, and the American Way,

Blaine.

