Original article posted by chamblin:

The word of the day is succinct. It’s cool. Look it up. If you can guess the movie, 12 million points. I’m feeling more… benevolent today than normal. And less like I hate everything. Don’t give in to hate. That leads to the Dark Side.

It’s been raining here. Lots. So far our X-wings haven’t sunk into the mud. But that’s probably because we park them on gravel.

So I’ve been reading The Miracle of Forgiveness. It’s really good. If you haven’t read it, do so. Some people will tell you that it will just make you feel bad about yourself. I say, “Balderdash!� If it makes you feel lousy, then you probably need to read it. There’s no lazy way to be perfect and that’s what we need to be. You know who you are.

We’ve had a few days off here and there and I spent them at the mall. I got to play Skee-ball at Chuck E. Cheese. That was fun. There’s also a game with a laser pistol. And a video projector in the mall. I won a trophy. It was fun. I also saw the Easter Bunny in the mall. I asked him if he’d seen Mall Rats. He nodded and started to back away. If you’ve seen Mall Rats, this will probably be funny. If you haven’t seen it, don’t. It’s rated R and for very good reason. The part with the Easter Bunny is still funny.

As far as how training is going, it’s going. It’s mostly over. Hooray! In the last two weeks I learned how to drive with night vision goggles, extract myself from a minefield, and we went to the gas chamber, to name a few. It all sounds cool, but don’t be fooled by clever packaging. Busy work is busy work, even if you try calling it something like “Advanced Combat Training! Or an equally misleading term.

I saw something the other day that none of you will ever see outside of a movie. I saw a tall, good-looking blonde girl in jeans and a sweater come into the café to check her e-mail. She was carrying a laptop and an M-16. I know the guys are jealous.

Well, it’s time for me to wind down now. We’re going to the range tomorrow. We’re engaging targets from 30m away in buddy teams. It’ll be fun. Remember, “He who fears being conquered is sure of defeat.� I like random advice.

The man who likes random advice,

Blaine

